Don’t ask me why

I always try to see the best in people. I give countless chances even to people who don’t deserve it. So if I walk away from you, please know that you were given due process. 

Lately, I’ve been thinking much. I’m not sure if being soft-hearted and hard-headed is a good combination. But, what can I do. This is me. 

I treasure friends, not things. Moments, not money. I may not be rich, but I am happy. I don’t have a lot of friends, but I have a few precious ones with whom I shared years of unspoken undertanding.

You see, it’s quite hard to find people like them. 

Loyal. Honest. Oh, sometimes, brutally honest. 

It’s hard to find people who will defend you in your absence. People who would choose you without thinking. 

People who will take your side even if you’re not completely right, just so no other person can demean you in public. 

But then, they correct you in private.

These are my kind of people. People who would respect me no matter what. 

Simply because they know me very well. And that despite some poor judgements, they know I mean no harm.

I don’t know what pushed me to write like this.

Oh, I remember now.

Someone once asked me why I walked away. 

I wanted to say “just.” Some people, I think, don’t deserve an explanation, you know. They break you and hurt you and then they would ask why you turn away from them. 

I can’t believe people like them exist. I can’t believe I wasted my precious time taking care of them, believing they, too, are just like me. 

Too much for being empathetic. Being too kind… you’re teaching people to take advantage. 😦

So my friend, don’t ask me why. If I walk away from you, know that I gave you enough time.

Leave a Reply

